Welcome

After many years of toying with the idea of starting a blog I have finally decided to just put myself out there and see how things go. As someone who tends to over think things I have found many reasons and excuses to delay this, but the time has finally come to start writing and sharing. I don’t know whether anyone will ever read this, but I know that I have something(s) to say. That is why I am starting this blog.

I struggled with naming the blog, mainly because I struggle to identify myself. Who am I? What do I want to say? I am still working on answering these questions, and will likely continue to do so as this blog moves forward. In the meantime here is an attempt to give you a brief overview of what those answers currently look like.

Who I am is something that constantly changes and evolves but where I stand in life now is at the intersection of motherhood and my other identities. I am, have always been and will always be, black. Similarly, I have always sought to change the wrongs around me and to leave the world a better place then it was when I entered. Thus, black and activist are identities which I believe have played a central role in my life. I am also a woman, and more recently, a mother. I navigate the world through these identities, and the world helps shape how I identify myself.

What I have to say is grounded in my everyday experiences as this black woman/mother, and the social spaces that I occupy. I live in city a which prides itself on being the most multicultural in the world. I see things happening around me daily which impact my heart, my being and my soul, and I wish to share my personal thoughts on these experiences. I hope that someone will find something I have to say helpful, or inspiring, or thought-provoking. But more importantly, I hope to chronicle my own thoughts in  an effort to create a space to work through some of the most challenging aspects of parenting, living and being which I encounter daily. I also strive to create an inclusive and safe space for others who like me, find themselves navigating a complex world which looks to place us in certain boxes and judge us accordingly.

I thank you for reading this and welcome you to blacktivist mommy. I look forward to seeing where this goes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

