On anxiety

I have a degree in pyschology, so you would think I could have self-diagnosed. I suspected for many years that something was not quite right, and I thought perhaps depression or bipolar disorder. It wasn’t until I was in my mid-twenties that a therapist was able to give me a diagnosis: generalized anxiety disorder and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). As soon as I read up on both the pieces of my life started to fall together. It was like assembling a puzzle without knowing what the picture was supposed to look like. I know exactly what I have experienced – mood swings, angry outbursts, melancholy, a racing mind full of worst=case scenarios. What I didn’t know for a long time was that all of these things were connected to one another, and were a result of a number of traumatic events I experienced as a child/teenager.

Leave a Reply

